darker days of me & i

I put together this 8 song EP together as a way to get some dark music off my back.  It was very typical of me to put together some deep dark playlist and try to relate.  What can I say deep dark music has a magnetic appeal I can not explain.  Perhaps it is that I grew up in a era where this gloomy genre was praised.  Alternative music always pulled the heart string of my teenage angst and I did wear a Prozac shirt that said “Don’t worry be happy.”

This is a interesting collection of songs that have caught my attention in one way or another.  I also took another approach to this mixtape by building it around one song.  That song is ‘Scrapbooking’ by Pissed Jeans.  It is a errie dark song from a creativly obscure and talented  band on Sub Pop.  Apart from the intro the other tracks stand alone as gems in there own genre.

Do not get me wrong I am a very optimistic happy person.  Just sometimes I tend to venture off to a sullen place.  The trick is not to make it a habit.

OutKast  . You May Die
Pissed Jeans . Scrapbooking
Tom Waits . Alice
Elvis Costello . Almost Blue (Chet Barker cover)
Jim Hall & Pat Metheny . Don’t Forget
Radiohead Last . Flowers To The Hospital
Norah Jones . Ocean of Noise (Arcade Fire cover)
NIN . A Warm Place

>> Click here to download compilation <<

About llapingacho

Ingredients: Potato, Food Starch, Achiote, Onion, Wheat Flour, Cheese, Salt and Oil.
This entry was posted in #FMD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

