Concert Review: The Sounds – We are Touring in America!

Written by David Campos (@magicdave1983)

Live at Culture Room : Fort Lauderdale, FL – 10/12/2011

One of my most comfortable t-shirts has The Sounds all over it. One of the greatest music fails I have heard involved my best friend and Sounds’ lead singer Maja Ivarsson.  Both an old acquaintance and a new acquaintance have told me about how much they love the Sounds, but have never been able to go see them. I curiously wanted to go see them back in 2009, but my night shift job didn’t allow me.  You see where I am going with this? I had heard about the Sounds for several years now, but never actually listened to them. So upon discovering that they would start their 2011 North American Tour here in South Florida, I figured it was time to give them their due.

After listening to them for about a month, I got my ticket and headed off to Culture Room on a windy, Wednesday night.  After waiting in the dark for about an hour, the electronic intro “It’s So Easy” from their 2011 record Something to Die For snuck in amongst the crowd and started elevating sharing its beats until everyone’s attention was glued to the stage. After that was taken care of, Maja and her band mates graced us with their presence. She smiled, gave high-fives, took a cigarette drag, and then flicked it into the crowd. She then took the microphone and sung the first words, “It’s so easy when you know how it’s done. You gotta seize the moment before it’s gone.” The band really took the words to heart. They let out a dose of non-stop new wave rock with sheer ease.  Maja is a classy rebel on stage, and she knows it. After being around for 10 years, it’s become a way of life. With hits such as “No One Sleeps While I’m Awake” and “Living in America”, the crowd was dancing with tremendous delight. No one got into it more than an arm waving, Swedish giant who barreled his way through the crowd up to the front of the stage. He must’ve been about 6’4”and was really letting the alcohol tell him what to do.  Thankfully, it was all in fun and no one was hurt in the incident.

I gave them their due, and they delivered 100%. Looking at Maja closely, I thought this must’ve been what Blondie was like back in the day. Realizing that I was officially hooked after the show, I gladly purchased their new album without hesitation. The record is currently sitting comfortably in my car’s CD player, and it’s not going anywhere any time soon.

About llapingacho

Ingredients: Potato, Food Starch, Achiote, Onion, Wheat Flour, Cheese, Salt and Oil.
This entry was posted in #tuTicket and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

