Adventures in Music Collecting: End of an Era

CD-Binder

The world as I knew it has changed.  It is not like I did not see this happening I just did not experience it firsthand yet.  At least not in the way I did today.

Walking back from my lunch break I decided to walk into the local used everything store “Out of the Closet.”  Did I mention I work in South Beach, FL?  I went in to kill time and peruse the used CD’s and vinyl records.  Before I even got to the used music section I saw CD binder on a used coffee table.  As I looked through a very decent collection of music I could not help and wonder if someone had stolen this and donated it?  As I came to the last page I came across the last page which indicated the whopping of $8.99.

I could only assume this was the value of the binder and not its contents.  So I approached the cashier I asked how much this classic collection was and sure enough it was $8.99!  I told her that I only wanted to binder and not the music.  Her response was “You have to take it the way it is or put it back.”  I was floored.  So I negotiated everything for a flat $8 fee.  I was happy and sad.  Happy to have made such an amazing purchase sad that CD’s really have no value anymore in this digital age.

Out-Of-The-Closet

To think of all the physical music I have and still purchase has only value to me.  I am a collector nothing more nothing less.  I am a dinosaur wandering in the ruins of the past. To think I still have and collect vinyl.  I have come to a cross roads today.  I am questioning why I collect music? Is it for the love of the art or am I trying to fill some void with stuff.  On a lighter note I want to share my bounty, because in the end this was one hell of a purchase!

Oasis – Be Here Now      $3.96
Office Space – Burnt CD      $0.00
Charlie Parker – Ultimate Charlie Parker    $15.06
Pearl Jam – Jeremy Single     $9.99
Tom Petty – Full Moon Fever     $4.99
Tom Petty – Wildflowers      $6.99
Phish – Junta       $5.99
Elvis Presley – 30 #1 Hits     $11.99
Elvis Presley – 2nd to None     $12.52
Queen – Made in Heaven      $12.98
Ramones        $7.99
Red Hot Chili Peppers – Blood Sugar Sex Magik   $7.80
Otis Redding – The Very Best of     $6.99
Reservoir Dogs – Soundtrack     $8.24
Rock Remixes       $0.00
Run DMC – Raising Hell      $6.99
Saturday Night Fever – Soundtrack    $11.88
Simon & Garfunkel – The Best Of     $11.45
Paul Simon – Graceland      $8.99
Paul Simon – Rhythm of the Saints    $8.99
Smashing Pumpkins – Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness $19.99
Snatch – Soundtrack      $12.99
Spinal Tap – Soundtrack      $10.49
Bruce Springsteen – Born in the U.S.A.    $6.99
Cat Stevens – Greatest Hits     $6.99
Steve Miller Band – Greatest Hits 1974-78    $9.00
Sublime        $8.49
CD-R        $0.00
James Taylor – Greatest Hits     $12.78
George Thorogood – The Baddest Of     $39.99
Trainspotting – Soundtrack     $8.49
U2 – Joshua Tree      $9.49
Van Halen – 1984      $6.99
Van Halen       $6.99
Van Halen – Diver Down      $4.99
Van Halen – Live: Right Here Right Now    $13.18
Steve Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble – Live: In The Beginning $17.62
Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble – Texas Flood   $6.99
Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble – SRV Bonus Disc  $6.99
Weezer        $8.49
Paul McCartney and Wings – Complete Discography (Promo’s)  $220
Bill Withers – The Best of Bill Withers: Lean on Me   $3.90
Luscious Jackson – Fever In Fever Out (Promo)    $11.70
Sarah McLachlan – Surfacing     $5.66

So in the end paying $8.00 for $627.68 is not bad business!

About llapingacho

Ingredients: Potato, Food Starch, Achiote, Onion, Wheat Flour, Cheese, Salt and Oil.
This entry was posted in #CRF, #iCollect, #MusicweLove and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

