Hiatus Kaiyote

Written By Ana Treviño

Image

Hello again, long time no see. I spent yesterday evening cuddled up on a new bed with my two dogs and cat listening to new music. I had a list going and finally had the time to go through it and pay close attention to new things by new artists. My evening started with the neosoul sounds of Erykah Badu. I revisited my favorite album by her, “Mama’s Gun” which started a kick of other things in the same genre. Luckily, a friend had recommended a Melbourne based band called Hiatus Kaiyote. Intrigued by the name, I listened to the first track off their new and if I’m not mistaken, first full-length EP “Tawk Tomahawk.” I was immediately blown away. From sweet harmonies to groovy beats, it opened my ears to a new, unique sound. The vocals of singer Nai Palm are bittersweet, soothing to the soul. Surprisingly, their bassist Paul Bender is from Miami, Florida. The quartet not only screams neosoul but brings a new twist to it. Take a listen, I’m sure it’ll better your day as it bettered my evening.

 

About llapingacho

Ingredients: Potato, Food Starch, Achiote, Onion, Wheat Flour, Cheese, Salt and Oil.
This entry was posted in #MusicweLove, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

